week 3 day 16 I miss Spring break a lot right now

So today I started watching the videos over my newest course, Tracing Artwork with Illustrator.  In the first few chapters I didn’t really get a lot of work done on my computer just more of learning the terminology.  Now I did do a few things that were recommended for good practice on tracing in Illustrator.

The very first thing I jumped into was just simple basics of the trace panel.  This summed up on what it was how to use it and what I can do with it.

The next thing that I went over was the different color modes for it.  There are 3 color modes for the trace panel. the starting one for each trace is just black and white.  These colors are pretty self explanatory, but I’m  not too much of a fan of the out come of the art when it is finished.  The next color set is Grayscale.  I absolutely love this color set because it makes very beautiful black and white pictures and if you want the picture to seem blotchy for design preferences you are able to turn down the amount of grey shades you are currently using. The final color set is “color”.  This  explains itself too, it is just a picture that has been traced in color.  Now being the pictures use a lot paths if “vectorized’ they tend to look blotchy unless you really tweek with the other advanced tools.

The 3 advanced tools are paths, corners, and noise.

Paths:  The paths setting make either more or less of the paths which can really change the look of a picture even if change by 1%.  This fine tuning of your tracing really allows you to have a upper edge on your project and removes plenty of stress from the work in general.

Corners: The corners setting allows you to change just what it says, the corners of your paths. This I’m not 100% sure how it works just yet, but it has the same effect on your picture generally speaking.  It won’t effect your artwork like the paths setting but it will change the points where two lines converge and I THINK it makes the corners more defined only time will teach me about them.

Noise: Noise is the setting of your finer lines that will be more define or more pixely.  In this setting I prefer to keep at 0% because I like solid lines more than anything but during certain occasions I like the pixel look. The way the setting bar works s is opposite to the others.  What I mean by this is that you raise the bar to make it less solid and more pixely, and vise versa if you want it to be more solid.

After learning the general settings for tracing I learnt that tracing is NOT always going to give you the perfect result and that it will take you some time to get your  picture, logo, air piece, ect. to look perfect like you want it too. Now in my refining part I didn’t take a whole lot of time in it and just refined a few lines with my eraser.  The reason why I didn’t want to take to much time on it is so that I could go on with my lessons.

The next lessons covered terms fir tracing. There are 5 terms that I will mainly be working with: Tracing Palette, Limited Palette, Full Tone Artwork, Input Image, Flat Color.

Tracing Palette:  The tracing palette is the general picture that you are going to be tracing.  This could range from a very wide variety of images.

Limited Palette: The limited palette is a palette that only has a certain amount of colors that it can use at one given time.  So if I scan in a picture that has multiple varieties of the same color then it is going to trace differently

Full Tone Artwork:  Full tone artwork is the exact opposite of limited palette.  It has all the colors it could possibly have available.

Input Image: The input image is the image you place into your artboard to give you what you plan on tracing

Flat Color: Flat color is literally just an image with one color no variety, no fading, no shading, no nothing…..just a boring old color…nothing interesting

 

Leave a Reply

